Skip to content

The Wombats Destroy an Australian Cultural Icon

June 25, 2008



‘Guitar pop upstarts The Wombats will perform in a forthcoming episode of Neighbours, to be filmed when they visit our shores for Splendour In The Grass. The unlikely blow-ins will take the ‘stage’ at the show’s local haunt Charlie’s Bar to play two songs, Kill The Director and Let’s Dance To Joy Division (no doubt one of Harold’s favourites). According to NME, the episode will air in the UK in late 2008, which could mean we get to see it first.’ Source


What is this?! I have had it with these mother fucking Wombats in my mother fucking life! No really, you guys have taken this too far! I was (somewhat) fine with you being played on the radio, sure it was annoying when one of your piece of crap songs popped up while I was driving but it didn’t really bother me, the radio is a haven for crap music. I expect it. But no! You couldn’t settle for invading the audio in my car’s stereo system you had to invade the best soap opera on Australian television.

‘But Nick’ I hear you say, ‘Neighbours is terrible and poorly acted and I hate it, why do you enjoy such a show?’ Shut up! Neighbours is an authentic piece of Australian culture that should be treasured by future generations. No matter on what level you appreciate Neighbours you should recognise its awesomeness. I don’t want some piece of trash brit-pop flavour of the month band showing up to give Harold a lesson in how to rock out. Harold can rock out without you stupid Wombats trashing his general store and without stinking up Steph’s bar. Also you losers were here like 3 months ago! Why do you need to tour twice in the same year?! You didn’t get enough money the last time? What the fuck?! And wha’ts with your name, The Wombats? Name your band after one of your own native animals you douche bags. It makes no sense! Gahhhh!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Nick permalink
    June 25, 2008 3:59 pm

    Motherfucking blogspot screwing with my font! I cannot deal with this at 2am!

  2. Alexandra permalink
    June 25, 2008 11:44 pm

    Hahah!

    Awwww :( I like the Wombats. ‘Neighbours’ is the one going to ruin them!!!

    All those thirteen year olds are going to be chasing after them now :(

  3. Nick permalink
    June 26, 2008 2:36 am

    13 year olds are their target fan base anyway and 13 year olds can hardly appreciate Neighbours. Also I still don’t know what’s going on with this font, I set it the default but Blogspot is hating on me so yeah, now it’s really big and makes me look more angry. Note; this post may have been an overreaction.

  4. Philippe permalink
    June 26, 2008 7:46 pm

    But nick – Neighbours is terrible and poorly acted and I hate it, why do you enjoy such a show?

    *ahem* Australian Cultural Icon :P? hmmm….

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

