Skip to content

Ned Collette, Wagons & Dead Letter Chorus w/ Lost Animal @ Northcote Social Club 12/07/08

July 21, 2008

An inspiring crowd and good food was to greet me at The Northcote. I had been to this venue on my last trip down to Melbourne, but I neglected to check the music out that time. I wasn’t going to pass up this op to see a few bands.

After being very well full from well done duck, I sauntered into the room to probably what was the middle of Lost Animal’s set. This was a total mind fuck of a performance: a guy in a grey suit with sunnies on singing like he was some sort of coked up Dave Graney with a backing track and cheapo keyboard. I didn’t know what to make of it all. It was just so odd. Despite this, I would go and see him again if he was performing anytime in Sydney to see if I had stumbled into some sort of Melbourne type of one man scene or if this was just a one of a kind performance.

The next three bands made up for it though – Dead Letter Chorus strode on stage for the first headliner’s spot, and were warmly received by the Melbourne crowd. And what a crowd they got! Room packed already as they set on stage, they countrified The Northcote as much as they could. But not in a way that it’s cheesy (Wagons set was probably more countrified, but I’ll write about that in a sec). A lot of the cuts seemed to be from their latest release Listen Carefully (We Will Only Say This Once) but there were some new moments which are making me look forward to new material. One song in particular which kind of built and built and built until it couldn’t build no more transferred me to another headspace.

Wagons juxaposed what Dead Letter Chorus brought in a way. They seriously brought the party to the gig, with Henry Wagons jumping around with such abandon, you could just see they were not just keen to play tonight, they were overjoyed. Playing around with each other (a spure of the moment playing of Eye Of The Tiger one particular highlilght) and a soft solo singing tribune with piano accompaniment as well as a cover of The Church’s Unguarded Moment which featured members of all the bands on stage. This track was bliss especially with Gabrielle’s vocals making the pub lose all it’s masculinity.

Ned Collette was a sombre end to the evening. His three piece band, if you’re not aware is a huge side step to what City City City were all about serving up a nice brand of melancholic jangle. He threw a few surprises here and there. One of them being playing Guy Blackman’s Gayle as a start to the set, as well as a few pretty awesome new tunes as well for a forthcoming album it seems. The strumming sounds of Test Patterns and The Country With A Smile where nice set downs to a gig which parabled through musical emotive. Even the duck would have enjoyed it all.

Lost Animal myspace
Dead Letter Chorus myspace website
Dead Letter Chorus “Laces Bound” mp3
Wagons myspace website
Wagons “Man Sold” mp3
Ned Collette myspace website
Listen to some of Ned Collette’s stuff here

More of my photos of the gig are at my flickr

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    July 22, 2008 2:17 pm

    All the writers on this blog are great, but this loyal reader is having withdrawal symptoms from Nick and James :'(

  2. Philippe permalink
    July 22, 2008 2:48 pm

    they’ll be back I assure you! We’re just trying to hold the fort with updates and stuff to keep you entertained.

    Thanks for the loyalty!

  3. Alexandra permalink
    July 22, 2008 10:04 pm

    Yes! A loyal reader!
    My life has been given a little bit more meaning!
    Thank you!

    :)

    I don’t know where James is, but I know Nick is back, so we should expect soemthing from him soon!

  4. James permalink
    July 23, 2008 12:41 am

    Yay, cool!

    Um yeah, sorry, I was interstate for a while, and I just got back from overseas (Macau) yesterday, and am still yet to catch up on missed sleep. That said, I can’t see it being too long until I find time for a post, especially because there’s a couple of gigs coming up soon.

    Although I can see why somebody would miss Nick’s writing, I don’t know about mine; I feel so outclassed by the others! I must say, though, Phillipe and Alexandra have done a marvellous job while we’ve been away!

  5. Nick permalink
    July 23, 2008 5:59 am

    Hey guys. You all rule.

  6. Philippe permalink
    July 25, 2008 2:58 am

    awww.. *gets embarassed*

    I try my best…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

