Skip to content

Golden Plains 2009 @ The Meredith Supernatural Amphitheatre, March 7/8/9

March 10, 2009

Let’s get things straight first up – Things weren’t looking good from the get go. A douche bag passenger picking up my bag and a long wait for a rental car really didn’t get me in the mood. But all up, I had a fun time despite my ongoing tiredness PLUS me bumping into Nick 4 or 5 times and his gang PLUS the regular occurrence of me having to lie on the grass for long periods of time between sets cause my legs felt like Bones from Superted.

So to give you a different review than what is seen as the norm here at njv, I thought I’d just list all the bands I saw and give them a rating and short thought about their set (it also gives me an excuse to get out of this Internet Cafe in Melbourne as they’re charging through the nose!). Anyways, here goes:

The Harpoons – 7/10
Lead singer was cute and I saw her a few more times in the festival and my heart swooned. Music is good too.

Deaf Wish – 2/10
I don’t get this band and what they are on about. Go away.

Dan Deacon – 5/10
Good crowd interaction, but this is the third time I’ve seen him and his music is sounding more and more of a blur. Too experimental for this festival I thought, but the punters seemed to like the kind of disorganised theatrics.

At this point my brain decided to go into a snap freeze mode and as such “let me” stow the keys to my car in my boot. I waited 2 hours for an RACV dude to get the keys out of the car and hence missed Brant Bjork and The Black Seeds.

Black Mountain – 3/10
While standing in front of douchey, fucked-up dude pushing me around and continuously talking.

Black Mountain – 8/10
When I was at the back and actually able to enjoy their music a bit more.

Mogwai – 8/10
Would be a better experience if dickheads AGAIN stopped talking and the Ritalin fused chick standing beside me stopped going “WOOOO” every 2 minutes.

Of Montreal – 8/10
I seemed to struggle to hear the lead singer sing (which might be more my fault considering I was at the far back of the crowd) but I enjoyed the on stage costumes and dress ups nevertheless.

And this was where I went to bed and dreamt about that girl from The Harpoons again (as well as many other weird dreams which I won’t mention here – ask me when you see me next…). Apologies to Tim Rogers.

Sunday:

Luluc – 8/10
Nice start to the day. Also – Nick, you need to stop swooning over lead singers or you’ll end up like me.

Dan Kelly – 9/10
A very funny man. The stunning Ukeladies were a treat too with their sweet singing and playing along to the nice country-esque tunes. I remember Dan being more bluesy than this but was pleasantly surprised by this set of laid back acoustic tunes.

I missed out on John Doe & Jim white due to being involved in a very active soccer game. Unfortunately I fell over too many times to mention. Let’s just say the gym is awaiting my presence.

Bridezilla – 3/10
What I saw of them was pretty dull. This band need to get a bit more excited on stage I think as they used to be more engaging. The only thing worth seeing nowadays from Bridezilla is the violinist who seems to be the only person in the band getting into it.

Pivot – 10/10
Pivot were Pivot. I have seen this band too many times and they’ve always been worth seeing again and again. No more to really be said, really.

Missed Old Crow, but saw My Disco who get a – 2/10
I’m sorry Nick, I know you love this band, but I am getting a bit sick of their tunes. There’s only so much of one note riffs and repetition that i can handle.

Quintron & Miss Pussycat – 7/10
Very entertaining puppet show and some interesting organ sounds mixed with a crazy front dude. I think I’ll have to buy this bands stuff and will need to get into them a bit more

The Church – 10/10
Wow didn’t expect these guys to put on such an awesome performance. Some songs in this set just exploded out of nowhere

Missed Tony Allen to watch some TV Carnage footage at the cinema afterwards. That’s some fudged up stuff! Seeing Buzz Aldren on a treadmill will never be seen again in my lifetime and I will treasure that moment forever.

The Drones – 9/10
The loudest and best set I have seen them play. ‘Nuff said.

Gary Numan – 2/10
Seriously, WTF? What an odd set. This was basically NIN riffs and industrial versions of “Cars” combined with this wimpy UK accent saying “It’s my birthday” (along with some weird arm movement performance thing he had going on). Got me perplexed majorly.

At this point I was to tired for dancing (I’m too used to our Sydney gig curfews of midnight) and decided to listen to the cricket on the radio until I fell asleep.

And that was another Golden Plains for me for another year. Apologies for the lack of pics – iPhones just don’t cut it for concert photography unfortunately.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Elyse permalink
    March 11, 2009 6:48 am

    Nice to see you gave my favourite Dan Kelly a 9/10.
    Can’t believe how many times we all ran into you over the weekend. Catch you next festival Phil!

  2. Philippe permalink
    March 11, 2009 9:46 am

    Yeah Elyse that was kinda freaky. I honestly didn’t mean to bump into you all those times!

    Hope to see you again soon though next time!

  3. Anonymous permalink
    March 12, 2009 6:47 am

    I don’t get this band and what they are on about. Go away.

    I feel the same way about your ratings, but each to their own and all that.

  4. Philippe permalink
    March 12, 2009 1:05 pm

    *shrugs*

    eh, I try my hardest…

  5. James permalink
    March 12, 2009 1:20 pm

    Don’t worry Phil, I liked it! It’s good to chop and change review styles every now and then, keeps it interesting.

  6. Philippe permalink
    March 12, 2009 2:17 pm

    Aww I don’t worry really. I just give my opinion really and people can disagree if they want…

    I realised though that some of my sentences in this review sound all funny when read, so they’ve been changed to make sense. Apologies for my poor proof reading skills.

  7. Kaitlyn permalink
    March 13, 2009 8:47 am

    Nick has a GANG? I hope they weren’t violent Phil.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

