Skip to content

Brand New, Enmore Theatre, 24-01-08

January 24, 2008
tags:
by


I just got back from seeing Brand New at the Enmore, and, well… I’m terribly disappointed and underwhelmed, to be honest. Admittedly, it was partly my fault, going to see a band when I only know one of their three albums. But I believed, given that (on Last.fm, at least) Deja Entendu is their top album and The Quiet Things That No One Ever Knows is their most popular song, that they would use this to their advantage. I was mistaken, however. They played maybe three or four songs from Deja Entendu, none of which were Quiet Things or my perennial favourite, Me vs. Maradona vs. Elvis.

This disappointment was drummed in even further by vocalist Jesse Lacey saying at the start that they’d try to play a long set, given that there was no support act (Jesse did a pretty good acoustic set as support). He got my hopes right up, as I was at first doubtful that they’d play Me vs. Maradona vs. Elvis, it not being one of their more popular songs, but then smashed them to pieces, leaving me feeling empty after the single, instrumental encore.

I suppose I’m maybe being a little harsh here – the songs I knew, and some of the others, were pretty excellent, but it just wasn’t Brand New (for me) without more Deja Entendu, and some of the songs were slightly rubbish, really, especially compared to what they could’ve played. Maybe I just should’ve done my research with their other albums first, but frankly I think the disappointment would’ve been the same.

I still love Deja Entendu, though. I guess that’s some consolation, right? Hopefully they’re better for you, Nick!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Nick permalink
    January 25, 2008 4:57 am

    Yeah I’m not getting my hopes up too much because I hear that they can be a bit hit and miss live. Although their newest album is almost equally as good as Deja, sometimes I like it better actually. I’m still excited to see them on Thursday though.

  2. Weeee! permalink
    January 25, 2008 11:58 pm

    Hey look I am commenting without a google account.

  3. Anonymous permalink
    February 12, 2008 9:31 pm

    this is honestly the worst review i have ever read.

    if you dont know what your talking about, you shouldnt open your mouth.

  4. James permalink
    February 12, 2008 9:54 pm

    Lol.

    If you don’t like reading opinions, you shouldn’t open your eyes.

Leave a Reply

