Skip to content

LCD Soundsystem @ Enmore Theatre, 26-01-08

January 27, 2008
tags:
by


I was feeling pretty lazy going to this gig, so in the end I was glad I was seated, even though dancing to LCD Soundsystem would’ve been pretty rad. Surprisingly enough, Dappled Cities (Fly), the support act, was rather different to what I expected, and I ended up enjoying their stuff tremendously. I even went so far as to search for their album today in JB Hi-Fi, however I was to be disappointed. I’ve been disappointed in JB a lot recently… They don’t have Dappled Cities, Tigermilk, and a few other albums that I’ve wanted. But that’s another story.

Dappled Cities were both energetic and fun, and great to rock out to, but also easy and pleasant to listen to, which is no mean feat in my books. The lead singer (or one of them) was having a lot of fun, and his energy definitely got me in a good mood for what was to come.

Although LCD Soundsystem are meant to be dance artists, whenever I listened to the Sound of Silver, I never felt a terribly great urge to get up and shake my booty (not that that’s a very pleasant thought anyway…), as much as I enjoyed listening to it. But live, it’s a totally different story, and it’s hard not to get up and have some fun. Which is something a great deal of people did, even upstairs.

It seems to be a recurring theme recently that the songs I like best from the album(s) are not the ones I like best at the live shows. Such was the case here, with All My Friends. There was nothing wrong with it, it just wasn’t the best track to hear live. I was also a bit disappointed when they first started to play North American Scum, as it was noticeably quicker than the album version, but once I accepted the fact, it was admittedly a lot better to groove to, and ended up being thoroughly enjoyable, and ended up being the highlight of the night.

Oh, and the lights were awesome. DISCO BALL FTW!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lizzie permalink
    January 28, 2008 12:54 pm

    The drummer doesn’t wear pants.

  2. Lizzie permalink
    January 28, 2008 12:56 pm

    Oh wait, yes he does.
    Very short beige ones.
    Nice.

Leave a Reply

