Skip to content

Ghost World

January 29, 2008
tags:
by


I recently read the (one of) the graphic novels that this film is based off and I quite liked it (unlike some people) so I was interested to see how well it came across as a film and because Scarlett Johansson is in it. Also I think I must have watched this years ago because parts of it seemed really familiar but I think when I saw it back then I must have been too young to ‘get it’.
The story is not too complex, it follows the cynical Enid and Rebecca; they have just graduated high school and are seemingly trying to move forward with their lives. Also a strange man becomes involved and of course complicates things.

Thora Birch does a good job of playing Enid, she allows the character to be so frustrating but also, for the most part, likeable and Johansson, manages to give Rebecca some depth with her limited screen time, especially compared to Enid. Most of the best scenes are ripped straight from the comic books and focus on Enid and Rebecca youthful obsession with the lonely and weird which eventually leads to to Seymour (Steve Buscemi). Him and Enid start an awkward friendship and to honest I didn’t like this part of the film very much, it seemed forced and too far removed from the original material and their whole relationship was a bit slow but with some great highlights spread through out it. The movie worked best when they would focus on Enid’s strange view of the world as the original source did and I didn’t think enough attention was given to the friendship between Rebecca and Enid.

Overall I enjoyed the graphic novel a lot more than the film but it was still nice and really pulled together by the quirky soundtrack and the crazy art teacher was a thing I think we can all relate to.

3.5/5

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mollie permalink
    January 30, 2008 12:17 am

    Tht picture book was the stupidest thing I have ever read. And I read Mills and Boon novels all the time. Also Scarlett Johansson annoys me. All she’s got is blondeness. I wish you could review sweeney todd, but we didn’t see it so I guess you can’t. I clicked on an ad.

  2. James permalink
    January 30, 2008 12:31 am

    Nick, you should upload images to Blogger so that if they change on the website you stole them from, they still stay the same here. Somebody changed the Ghost World image to something stupid, so I downloaded another one and uploaded it here.

    Scarlett Johanssson used to be cool.

  3. Nick permalink
    January 30, 2008 3:33 am

    Okay.

Leave a Reply

