Skip to content

The Longnecks (The Living End), Karova Lounge, 8-2-08

February 9, 2008


So since me and James actually went to a gig together we thought we would be lazy and just do a ‘review’ by the magic of MSN messenger. We are total pros.

Nick says:

Hi James

James says:

Hey

Nick says:

I am trying to find an example of a conversational review but my internet speed has been capped and it’s taking ages.

James says:

Haha

James says:

We can’t just wing it?

Nick says:

Okay

Nick says:

Let’s do that

Nick says:

Since you (surprisingly) have never been to Karova did you think it was a good venue?

James says:

Yeah, it was cool. A bit stuffy, but you get that. And people in Ballarat seem to be taller than Sydney people

Nick says:

Yeah I kept considering going outside for a bit but thought they might play a good song while I was gone.

People in Ballarat are also really annoying.

James says:

Yeah, I had to leave in the end… shame it was during the encore

Haha, why are they annoying?

Nick says:

They are loud and stupid and get kicked out by bouncers. Although the kicking people out part was funny.

James says:

Yeah, it was. I can’t believe the bouncer literally threw that guy out, I didn’t think he was THAT bad.

Nick says:

I can’t believe I didn’t see the actual throwing; I’m a bit annoyed about that. Although I was sort of expecting a crowd like that a band like The Longnecks (Living End).

What did you think of the set?

James says:

Um, well obviously I didn’t recognise any of the songs until the encore, as they were all new ones.

I found it pretty enjoyable, though. Some songs were a lot better than others.

Nick says:

Yeah, playing a set of entirely new songs was a bit boring. They really should have played a couple of older songs in between new ones. A few of the new songs had glimpes of greatness but overall I thought they were a bit too samey, I like the 6 minute ‘metal’ song though.

James says:

Yeah, that was cool.

At least they did play some older songs at the end, but you’re right, I think it would’ve been better if they’d mixed them up a bit.

Nick says:

Yeah, What’s On Your Radio at the end was really cool. The guitar solo in it is mental. In fact there were a lot of cool guitar solos all night, but the encore was probably more exciting then the entire rest of the set.

James says:

Yeah, I guess the crowd is a lot more enthusiastic with songs they know and love, which makes a big difference

I was a bit surprised by ‘Waltzing Matilda’ in the encore, but it really got the crowd singing along.

Nick says:

Yeah that was funny. I think I would have left feeling a bit bitter afterwards but luckily the encore was good. Overall it was an alright gig but not particularly great.

Nick says:

Oh and I forgot that the first three songs sounded sooo much like Green Day.

James says:

Yes, they so did! In fact, maybe even more than just the first three songs. I kept thinking that the lead singer reminded me of Billie-Joe or whoever he is (sorry Living End fans).

One Comment leave one →
  1. Singnguy permalink
    March 18, 2008 8:54 pm

    Got any audio/video of the new material? I’d love to see it… Can’t wait for the new album. Rock on TLE

Leave a Reply

