Skip to content

Broken Social Scene @ Manning Bar, 28-02-08

February 28, 2008


OMG OMG OMG SWEET SWEET SWEET SWEET SWEET AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

That is pretty much the best way to sum up my thoughts about Broken Social Scene live. The energy, the rocking out, the crowd, the humour, the fun, the band, the venue, the KEVIN! It was all gosh-darned superb!

The set opened with Kevin Drew coming out on stage and introducing pretty much everyone in the band, who then went on to play an instrumental of some sort. Then he introduced Feist. Then they played KC Accidental! Oh my, it was grand! That song is going to be stuck in my head for at least the whole of tonight.

Surprisingly, the highlight song of the entire show would probably be a toss-up between KC Accidental (from You Forgot It In People) and the fast version of Major Label Debut (from the To Be You And Me EP). The energy they created in the crowd was phenomonal for the both of them.

The whole set was freaking awesome. I actually don’t think I can put it in any more words than that. All you will read is me raving about how awesome and fun the whole thing was. It was sweet as(s)!! (Kevin’s joke, not mine…).

I’ll finish up by saying just two things: Steve correctly predicted the opening song (KC Accidental, pretty much) and I correctly predicted the encore/final song (It’s All Gonna Break – where on earth else is it going to go?!).

Oh, and K-os is one cool dude (he even gets a picture of his own because he’s not in the one at the top).


And Manning Bar was a really good venue for BSS, Enmore would’ve been too big.

And the support band (Belles Will Ring) were pretty good too, but I can’t really remember them because of the awesomeness of Broken Social Scene (sorry guys).

Also, because Steve and I were so excited on our way home (and that I kept trying to play KC Accidental on air guitar), we ended up getting late night kebabs and raiding my fridge for Ginger Beer, and wound up at Steve’s place figuring out the notes for KC Accidental on his super-cool keyboard so that I can play it on the violin. It’s a bit late now (and I have work tomorrow!), but when the time comes, my violin is going to have it’s socks rocked off by my super KC Accidental playing and rocking out. We also got the brass part of Casimir Pulaski Day (by Sufjan Stevens, not BSS), so I will be able to play that on violin too (I can already kind of pluck the guitar part, but it’s rather hard). So yeah, exciting!!

Oh, and the set went for OVER TWO HOURS. Take that, Nick :p. The band seemed to be loving it just as much as the crowd, and neither wanted to leave at all.

OMFG BROKEN SOCIAL SCENE FTW!!!

Sorry, this was a pretty innapropriate review. I can’t get over the excitement though!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Nick permalink
    February 29, 2008 1:00 am

    I’m really glad that SOMEONE posted a on blog on the 29th of February. LEAP YEAR!!!!11

Leave a Reply

