Skip to content

Crystal Castles – Crystal Castles

March 13, 2008
by


I don’t really listen to that much electronic music but I’m slowing getting into it and I think Crystal Castles are a part of that. I got their EP and a few mp3 before they played at Meredith in December last year and enjoyed them; also live they were pretty great so I was interested to see how their debut LP would turn out.

It’s pretty much more of the same, which isn’t really a bad thing considering the EP was so short and left you wanting more. They play a distinctive style of electronic but with my limited vernacular (I think this is the right word) on the subject I will describe it as sounding a bit like Nintendo but more scary plus with added vocals (on some songs). So blips and bloops with some shrieking melodies thrown in, but it’s mostly just good pop music. I prefer the songs where the vocals are more prominent such as Through The Hosiery and Alice Practice, but other songs such as DFA1979 themed opening track Untrust Us, along with others sans vocals, are still impressive and fun.
Well acutally Untrust Us DOES have vocals but um… not really if you check it out you’ll get me, maybe. The album is quite gritty but honest and also quite upbeat. It’s still going to take me a few listens to wrap my head around it but so far I’m having fun.

Crystal Castles – Crystal Castles (Full Album)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

