Skip to content

Wilco @ Enmore Theatre, 18-03-2008

March 20, 2008

Okay, so I’m redoing this review, because it was, well… Lacking? Heh. You can still view the old one here, though, if you really want.

The support, Bridezilla, were… Interesting, to say the least. In a very very good way, mind you. After their first song, I mentioned to Steve that The Drones were supporting in Melbourne, and he said he wished they were supporting here in Sydney, too. I told him to give them a chance, they’d only played one song, and in the end he did actually really enjoy them. Personally, I couldn’t much take my eyes off the violinist. Maybe I’m biased because I was like “omg I wish I could do that on my violin”, but she really was amazing. The face-offs between the violinist and saxophonist were awesome, too.

I didn’t see as much of Wilco as I would’ve liked; I felt really sick after a couple of songs, so had to go and sit in the foyer for most of it, just coming out to see the songs I recognised. But from what I’ve heard from the others I went with, it was a pretty similar experience even from where they were – middle, a few metres from the stage!

I think if one thing came out of the old review, it was this: the reason we didn’t say much about Wilco was that, well, we didn’t actually have a lot to say about them. They were good, sure. Brilliant, talented live musicians. But they just weren’t captivating. I could relate it to some experiences I’ve had making a mix tape recently, even.

For it to be as good as you want it to be, the songs have to flow, to make sense with one another, and to engage the audience. One out-of-place song can ruin it (although not so much in the live show). Wilco seemed to do this all to often, I thought. They played some excellent, excellent songs (Heavy Metal Drummer, Walken, Via Chicago, etc), but they were intersperced with so many songs that went back to their, uh, ‘country bumpkin’ era, that we found it hard to get into the whole feel and energy of the show, which, with a live show, is half the kudos right there.

Maybe I should’ve made an effort to get hold of some of their older albums before watching (I have Summerteeth, Yankee Hotel Foxtrot and Sky Blue Sky, and adore all of them), but I don’t know that I would’ve enjoyed them that much anyway. They just didn’t seem like my kind of music? Haha. Apologies to old-Wilco lovers.

Actually, talking about the albums I have reminded me of something – the songs they didn’t play. They missed I Am Trying To Break Your Heart, which was probably the one everyone was most upset about. Who can resist wanting to become and American aquarium drinker, just to relate to the song? Or maybe that’s just me. Another missing hit was Either Way, although it comes a distant second to IATTBYH, and I would’ve liked to see I’m Always In Love and Jesus, Etc, although I’m only 90% sure they didn’t play them (it’s possible I just didn’t hear).

So, I guess that’s about it from me this time. As I said before, you can get some other opinions (kind of) from the old post on my other blog. Other than that… At least Nick and Steph will get to make up their own minds, when they see Wilco with The Drones in Melbourne next week!

Happy Easter, everyone! :D

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Nick permalink
    March 20, 2008 2:36 pm

    Crap review or crapest review? I’m not sure but also I am drunkish right now. Sounds like you guys did a terrible job of going to a Wilco gig.

  2. James permalink
    March 20, 2008 2:40 pm

    Heh, sorry. As I said on my other blog, we pretty much just found it rather underwhelming, and so couldn’t actually think of anything to say about it (and as a result got distracted). If we were at all captivated by the gig itself, the review would’ve been a lot better.

  3. Nick permalink
    March 20, 2008 2:41 pm

    It’s pretty crap that they didn’t play I am Trying to Break Your Heart. They’d better play that in Melbourne next week.

  4. James permalink
    March 21, 2008 1:31 am

    So like, I rewrote the review now. Hopefully it better passes our ‘quality standards’ :P. Old one still on my other blag, though.

  5. Nick permalink
    March 21, 2008 1:54 am

    Hmmm, now my previous comments seem strange and creepy. Oh well, I’m not going to delete them.

  6. Nick permalink
    March 21, 2008 7:42 am

    Argh. I left my Wilco ticket at Monash so now I have to drive all the way back there on the night of the gig. They’d better be worth!

Leave a Reply

