Skip to content

Death Cab for Cutie – I Will Possess Your Heart (Album Version, 2008)

March 22, 2008
tags: , ,
by


Hmmmm, on first few listens I wasn’t really feeling this song from Death Cab for Cutie’s upcoming Narrow Stairs at all, but this morning I found myself singing it in the shower so I thought to myself maybe it wasn’t too bad at all. I’m giving it another listen right now and it’s actually quite good. In most ways.

The fact that this song is 8 minutes long is a bit ridiculous, I mean I’ve got no problem with long songs but essentially the first 4 minutes of the song are a bit of a wank. The production is nice and polished, the bass sounds smooooth but really a 4 minute intro is not needed. When Mr. Gibbard’s vocals come in the sound is pretty in line with most of Plans but still sounds fresh and airy. The interplay between vocals and instruments is nice and the hook of the oft repeated vocal of ‘You’ve gotta some time love, you’ve gotta spend some time with me’ is really catchy and the reason I was singing in the shower. If you’re a Death Cab fan I assume you will check this out anyway (and I encourage you too) but if not I’d recommend some of their other stuff first. I’ll see how this song goes in the context of the album.

Death Cab for Cutie – I Will Possess Your Heart (Album Version, Steaming)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

