Skip to content

Wes Anderson Appreciation Post

March 23, 2008


I wrote an essay on The Royal Tenenbaums last week for film studies and after watching it a few times it made me realise the awesomeness of Wes Anderson. Over the past week or so I have been watching all his films that I could find; The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou, The Darjeeling Limited and today I watched Rushmore (finally) for the first time. Now I just have to find a copy of Bottle Rocket.

I love how much attention he gives to things that other film makers just seem to look over; his sets and costumes are always so awesomely quirky and important and the soundtracks to all his films are remarkable. I also love his use of extremely lengthy shots, especially a scene near the ending of The Royal Tenenbaums. The characters are all so damaged and in a way, unreal, but they are also so relatable and interesting and he always picks the best casts (Bill Murray!). Yeah this post is becoming pretty fanboy but after just watching The Darjeeling Limited for the second time that’s the sort of mood I’m in.
Check out a great scene below but it involves a spoiler for The Royal Tenenbaums just if you wanted to know.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

