Skip to content

Broadcast 2000 – Building Blocks EP

March 29, 2008
tags: , , ,
by


It sort of sucks a bit that this is one of the worst ‘band’ names I have ever heard. Last.fm tells me that Broadcast 2000 is ‘North London based multi-instrumentalist, writer/producer, from the ashes of acoustic troubadours Artisan, debut album coming spring 2008 on Gronland Records’. But my ears just tell me he is really good.

This EP is something I think I have been waiting for without knowing it, it is the thing I have been unknowingly looking for this year. It’s quite a gem. The sound is folksy indie pop and is in a similar style to some of Sufjan’s or even Josh Pyke’s stuff (this is a good thing!). Catchy melodies and mostly accoustic instrumentation define the EP and most of the songs are really very good nice and simple pop songs. The vocal melodies on ‘Pep Talk’ are very fun and the violin (?) bursts on ‘Everybody and Me’ are wonderful. This is highly recommended and accessible so check out his myspace below and then go buy his debut album when it comes out in Spring (apparently).

Broadcast 2000 on MySpace

2 Comments leave one →
  1. joe permalink
    March 31, 2008 8:57 am

    nick,
    i’m glad you like my music but please please take down this file sharing link and direct people to my myspace to listen.
    it is incredibly harmful to developing artists when people illegally distribute music like this.
    regards,
    Joe. (broadcast 2000)

  2. James permalink
    March 31, 2008 10:54 am

    Hey Joe (assuming you’re for real),

    I made the link point to your MySpace instead of the file sharing download, but I’d like to point out that all our readers I know of love buying CDs, provided they like what they hear. So if your stuff is worthwhile, I’m sure you would see your sales go up regardless of (and even thanks to) the download link. Good luck with your band!

    James

Leave a Reply

