Skip to content

Recently Enjoyed Songs

April 9, 2008


I am considering doing some kind of weekly round up of songs that I have been enjoing with mp3 links but I don’t want to commit to anything so for now I will just title this post ‘Recently Enjoyed Songs’.

Foals – Cassius
Prepare to be bombarded by these guys. I was just going to avoid the hype currently surrounding them but I caved in and had to look to see what all the fuss is about. While I don’t think the album on a whole is that great this is still a pretty great track. Spiky guitars, a math rock beat and typical brit pop vocals spurting something that resemble lyrics. Catchy, danceable and fun though.

DeVotchka – Basso Profundo
I’ve been digging their new album a fair bit and it’s quite fun to drive to, this song pretty much sums up their sound; think eastern European-ish with gypsy elements combined with a more conventional indie rock sound. A bit like Beirut but with a more straight forward vocals.

MGMT – Kids
Alright yeah, MGMT are pretty popular by now but I got into them a bit late. I think their album is a bit patchy but this is fun song. Dirty and catchy keys and electronic sounds over the drums are good but it mainly works due to the vocals (and vocal effects) along with a varied sound scape. A nice ‘indie-electronic-pop’ song.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

