Skip to content

Nighttiming on the West Coast

April 16, 2008


OMG MUSIC-RELATED BLOG!! Surprise!

Fairly recently Lexie got me on to Coconut Records, the band of Jason Schwartzman, star of films such as The Darjeeling Limited. I won’t write about the whole album, but just wanted to share two songs with you – Nighttiming and West Coast, both awesome (albeit rather different) songs.

West Coast
is just brilliant. It would be one of the first songs I’d put on driving at night, if only I had a car. Just wandering, thinking. It’s quite similar in some ways to California by Phantom Planet (Jason Schwartzman’s old band), except, well… Melancholy. And better, of course. Lonely piano, acoustic guitar… *sigh*.

Nighttiming, on the other hand, is lively and danceable. You’ve been nighttiming, baby, it’s outta control! I’m at work at the moment, and have it playing on my headphones, and I am actually having trouble not moving to the sweet beats (lest somebody notices I’m not working). It’s currently my phone alarm, so it’s responsible for waking me up. At first I thought it was innappropriate, but I actually have been nighttiming, baby, and it really is starting to show when I (try to) get up in the mornings!

There’s some other pretty good tracks on the rest of the album too, but really nothing beats West Coast and Nighttiming. If you want to listen, check out the tracks below!

Coconut Records – West Coast
Coconut Records – Nighttiming

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Nick permalink
    April 16, 2008 4:59 am

    Hey James, I added links to mp3s and subsequently downloaded them songs. Pretty good! Nighttiming is catchy.

    Also since you seem to have an infatuation with Jason Schwartzman you should watch Rushmore (assuming you haven’t already), it’s by the same director as The Darjeeling Limited (Wes Anderson), of whom I am writing an essay on, and Schartzman plays the main character. I have it on dvd if you want to borrow it next time you and I are in Ballarat.

  2. James permalink
    April 16, 2008 8:59 am

    Cool, thanks Nick! I couldn’t really be bothered finding links when I was at work, heh.

    Ooh, I shall definitely have to check that movie out. Might just borrow it though, as it’ll be mid-year before I get the chance to come back, and by then I’ll have probably forgotten :P

Leave a Reply

