Skip to content

2 New Songs, 1 Old One

May 30, 2008


So I keep (unsuccessfully) trying to do some sort of ‘new music round up’ but this time I think I have a name (and theme) that might stick and also I only have to find two news songs and I can just pick one awesome song from the past. Fun times. By the way, I wonder if the title is correct grammar. Oh well.

Los Campesinos! – You! Me! Dancing! (2008)
Wow. That’s a lot of exclamation marks for one song title but when a song has this much shouting I suppose one might say it’s necessary. I’ll probably do a post on Los Campesinos!’s new album soon so for now I’ll just say they are a bit like a twee Broken Social Scene who really like to listen to brit pop. Layered instrumentation, poppy hooks, English accent; it’s a bit like ‘The Wombats’ if the ‘The Wombats’ were good. There is also some shouting as mentioned that just works at making the song even more catchy also there is this spoken word outro that really reminds me of ‘Skins’ so perhaps that’s why I like it so much. A really fun pop song, don’t let the prolonged intro fool you.
stream it
download it

The Hold Steady – Sequestered In Memphis (2008)
I have the new album and I assume a review is forthcoming so it seems that the lead single ‘Sequestered In Memphis’ is as good a song to talk about it as any other. Jangly piano melds with some rock n’ roll guitar for which Craig Finn can spit his spoken-sung lyrics over, he sounds as drunk and as interesting as ever. The song is seemingly the story of a man being interviewed by the police about a most likely criminally minded girl and the hijinks they had together. The sound doesn’t differ too much from their earlier work until some shouted backup vocals appear towards the end and its nice to hear a song by them that’s not about being drunk/high/fucked up at a party. Probably not the strongest song on the album but still a really good catchy song and it says sequestered a lot which apparently, according to Steph and James, is really funny…
stream it
download it

The Weakerthans – Sun in an Empty Room (2007)
Okay yeah, this song isn’t really that old but when I meant new songs I meant songs from the last few months and this doesn’t really fit. Last year is ages ago… and besides this song is amazing and by an incredible band. The Weakerthans are probably of the best Canadian bands and possibly one of the best bands in the world but some reason they don’t get enough press which means they haven’t toured here! The more people hearing this song the better. Detailed lyrics, heart-warming vocals and alt-country twinged instrumentation is just one part of this great song. The picture this song paints and the just the way each instrument sounds (especially the bass) makes it one of the best songs of last year and one of my favourite songs ever. Please get it, love it and then go buy their albums so they tour here. I know I have.
stream it
download it

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Steph permalink
    May 30, 2008 11:56 am

    JAMES!!! SEQUESTERED!!!!

  2. Elyse permalink
    May 31, 2008 4:10 am

    Some dogs are so cute. Do all dogs have black noses I wonder…..?

Leave a Reply

