Skip to content

Red Jezebel, The Retreat, Philadelphia Grand Jury @ Spectrum (Sydney), 6-6-08

June 12, 2008

Admittedly we* only went to see Red Jezebel, but considering between us we knew a total of…One Red Jezebel song (Ocean Blue Eyes, known by me), and all the bands were interesting, I figured I’d put the lot in the title.

I’d never been to Spectrum before (see random terrible picture below), and being on Oxford St on a Friday night wasn’t the most appealing thing, but it turned out to be a really interesting venue (tiny and dingy and weird) and very cool, actually. We even managed to score a corner couch, from which we got a really good view for most of the night (until people actually turned up for the final band, RJ). The only problem was something sticky that I sat on, but no big deal.

Philadelphia Grand Jury was up first, and there were maybe 10 or 12 people in the whole joint to begin with, including us. So they weren’t exactly the most popular band around, and they didn’t have the greatest depth to their music, but the recorded voiceover between songs, combined with a guy in a trench coat, another in a hoodie (with hood) and sunglasses, and the drummer’s hilarious expressions, made for a rather entertaining show indeed. Even the music turned out pretty good!

I kind of feel bad, as I’m pretty sure I had a power nap somewhere through The Retreat’s set, but I just really needed it, and it was nothing against the quality of the band. They were the most ‘indie-ish’ of the night’s lineup, and were quite relaxing and cool. Overall they were probably my favourite band for the night.

Red Jezebel seemed to be everyone’s favourite, although I have to say that I’m not sure this applied to me. I mean, they were really excellent, but I was in the mood for something a little quieter, and Red Jezebel turned out to be the loudest of the lot.

I’m sorry, I don’t think I actually took all that much direct notice of the bands towards the end, I just kind of was distracted, but it was lovely having the live music in the background, and the bass sending vibrations through the whole place…

Anyway, a great night out, especially for the $10 price tag! I highly recommend seeing any of the aforementioned mentioned bands if you get the chance.

* we = Me, Steve, Lizzie, Germaine and Cat. You know, if anyone was interested…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Nick permalink
    June 12, 2008 3:30 pm

    ‘They were the most ‘indie-ish”, lol what does that mean…? Never mind, this just reminded me I haven’t been to a gig in ages and really should make an effort since I have some money now. Sort of.

  2. James permalink
    June 12, 2008 10:12 pm

    Lol, sorry, I was tired and couldn’t think of a better word! I mean, like… Just typical kind of ‘indie kids’, like the lead singer had unkempt hair and thick glasses and clothes to match… *shrugs*.

  3. Nick permalink
    June 13, 2008 3:36 am

    Heh, I was just joshing with you. Yeah, pretty sure joshing is a word.

  4. James permalink
    June 13, 2008 3:38 am

    Joshing is a totally awesome word! My Mum uses it a lot.

    But my description of the band as ‘indie’ *was* pretty nondescript, so I figure it was worth a comment anyway…

Leave a Reply

