Skip to content

Girl Talk – Feed The Animals (2008)

June 27, 2008

To me, mash ups have always kind of been a novelty, and nothing really too much more. Sure, there was a period earlier this decade where Bastard Pop was the most awesome music movement invented and every man and pet computer with editing software were garnering fame quicker than the artists they were mixing sometimes. This rise though also gaave way to a quick fall not too long later and people like Australia’s own Dsico heralded the mash up dead years ago.

So I downloaded Girl Talk’s Feed The Animals with a little bit of trepadition. Sure, Gregg Gillis has come a little late on the boat, but he tackles the mash up kind of music making in a much more hectic way. His music was either made for people with short attention spans – with his chopping and changing style see a new artist come into the mix every 30 seconds or so – or for sampling geeks who like to figure out who is being featured in the samples of the whole work (sorry Nick! I’m sure you’re not one of those “geeks” :P).

Some of the highlights here is especially when some of the big time rappers are heard. Set It Off has some interesting combinations of jay Z & Radiohead while the manic Shut The Club Down makes Aphex Twin meld seemlessly into a Jaggad Edge track. However overall I felt a little weird listening to this. I needed to be in a bit of a up-for-it mood. I suppose this was my fault – I was listening to this album in the wrong situation, (sitting at my desk). I would probably appreciate it a little more if I was say in a nightclub, or if it was played in a live sense by Gregg himself.

Feed The Animals however is an interesting listen, for many more reasons than just enjoying the music. As Nick said in his post – download the album for nada (or whatever else you want to pay) here.
3 Comments leave one →
  1. Nick permalink
    June 27, 2008 9:38 am

    Picking out the samples is fun but I don’t think I know enough ‘mainstream’ music or older music to pick all the samples he uses. I mostly geek out when something like Of Montreal gets thrown into the mix.

  2. Nick permalink
    June 27, 2008 9:42 am

    Also I think this is the first album we’ve reviewed twice here, I like it. Differing opinions are interesting.

  3. Philippe permalink
    June 27, 2008 11:42 am

    I just find it interesting, especially with the wikipedia article and all, that people spend a lot of time on it (picking out samples).

    I suppose it IS the Internet and all though.

Leave a Reply

