Skip to content

Yet another list

July 6, 2008

I’m not really intending to try and make my contributions to nickjam all about lists. But I do have a weird fascination about these things.

And as well as Nick, I am also on a little holiday in Adelaide (and on to Melbourne as of tomorrow) at the moment. Needless to say I am a little short of ideas to post something on here. I DO have a few gig reviews coming up though, so never fear.

Anyways – back to the subject. This list was composed by the Australian Independent Records (AIR) Label Associations. It was all part of Independents day 08 which happened on July 4 to celebrate the existence of Independent labels everywhere. Just like The Age’s list, AIR also consulted “musicians, songwriters, journalists, radio announcers and music industry folk” to come up with the list, although who those people are, I don’t know (or I didn’t look hard enough to find out…).

The list is below. I have bit more affection with this list than The Age’s – the list was restricted to primarily Independent releases. I suppose I’m appreciative of it a bit more because it does feature a few under appreciated bands (The Triffids – yeah!). There are also those albums in my view that I think are in there for the fact that they “broke through” with that particular album. (The John Butler Trio and The Whitlams for example).

I am disappointed a couple of bands missed out as well. Namely You Am I and Augie March (who I think released their first of an indie label? Correct me if I’m wrong).

Once again – let the below list start the debate!

50. Just Because You Can’t See It, Doesn’t Mean it Isn’t There – Kim Salmon and the Surrealists
49. Last Gasp – Spencer P. Jones and The Last Gasp
48. You Have To Dig Deep To Bury Daddy – Jeff Lang
47. You Get What You Deserve – Scientists
46. Circle High And Wide – Snout
45. Tumbleweed – Tumbleweed
44. Yummy! – The Hard Ons
43. Free Dirt – Died Pretty
42. Magic Box – The Loved Ones
41. TNT – AC/DC
40. High Voltage – AC/DC
39. The New Normal – Cog
38. Go the Hack – Cosmic Psychos
37. Charcoal Lane – Archie Roach
36. Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap – AC/DC
35. Chemistry – Mondo Rock
34. Eddy Current Suppression Ring – Eddy Current Suppression Ring
33. The Low Road – Beasts of Bourbon
32. X-Aspirations – X
31. Sex – The Necks
30. Friends In Danger – Magic Dirt
29. The Hard Road – Hilltop Hoods
28. Send Me A Lullaby – The Go-Betweens
27. Icehouse – Flowers
26. Let Love In – Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds
25. Sunrise Over Sea – The John Butler Trio
24. Mr. Uddich Smuddich Goes To Town – The Laughing Clowns
23. Like Drawing Blood – Gotye
22. Prayers On Fire – The Birthday Party
21. Electrical Storm – Ed Kuepper
20. Eternal Nightcap – The Whitlams
19. Diorama – Silverchair
18. The Good Son – Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds
17. Wait Long By The River And The Bodies Of Your Enemies Will Float By – The Drones
16. Highway to Hell – AC/DC
15. Horse Stories – Dirty Three
14. The Boatman’s Call – Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds
13. INXS – INXS
12. Before Hollywood – The Go Betweens
11. Doughboy Hollow – Died Pretty
10. Back In Black – AC/DC
9. Sunnyboys – Sunnyboys
8. Radios Appear – Radio Birdman
7. Honey Steels Gold – Ed Kuepper
6. Since I Left You – The Avalanches
5. Midnight Oil – Midnight Oil
4. Liberty Belle and the Black Diamond Express – The Go Betweens
3. Stoneage Romeos – Hoodoo Gurus
2. (I’m) Stranded / No Time – The Saints
1. Born Sandy Devotional – The Triffids

AIR’s website myspace

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Alexandra permalink
    July 7, 2008 12:46 am

    This list is indeed alot more pleasing than that Age one!

    How was Wolf & Cub????

  2. Philippe permalink
    July 7, 2008 6:01 am

    Wolf & Cub were awesome and
    l o u d! I haven’t had my ears ring as loud as that evening. It was a nice lil’ venue as well.

    I took some photos but I’m bummed out cause I don’t have one of those USB cables that you can stick into an Internet Cafe computer and hence won’t be able to post them (I’ll try though – oh well).

  3. James permalink
    July 7, 2008 8:59 am

    Wow, that’s… Really weird! Nothing to do with the post or list, sorry. It’s just that I was in Adelaide from Thursday to Sunday, since which I have been in Ballarat (an hour out of Melbourne). CrEePy :P.

    Speaking of which… Nick, are you in Ballarat at the moment?

  4. Alexandra permalink
    July 7, 2008 9:39 am

    I think Nick is actully on his way to Egypt.

  5. James permalink
    July 7, 2008 2:21 pm

    Oh yeah, I keep forgetting that… Dammit Nick! No parties and movies for you! But you get Egypt, so…

    Thanks for the remembering, though.

  6. Philippe permalink
    July 7, 2008 11:06 pm

    creepy James… just creepy :P.

    We’re all a heap of travelers atm aren’t we?

Leave a Reply

