Skip to content

British India – ‘Thieves’ (2008)

July 21, 2008

One of my favourite albums of all time is British India’s debut, ‘Guillotine’ because I came across is at the same sort of time in my life that the album seems to represent; turning 18, going out and partying, discovering who you are and what you want out of life etc. I took to the album like a duck to water, for the best part of three months it was all I listened to, and whilst knowing of the coming of a new album was exciting for me, I was worried I wouldn’t warm to it as quickly as I did the year before with their first record. But fortunately, I think I have just found a new favourite record to add to my list, ‘Thieves’.

Like ‘Guillotine’, ‘Thieves’ runs for a little over half an hour with 10 tracks, opening with the heart-breakingly beautiful “God Is Dead, Meet The Kids”, front man Declan Melia’s almost despite sounding vocals making you want to smile and cry at the same time, before loud “This Dance is Loaded” with hell-for-leather drums and a catchy chorus of ‘It’s so rare that we need somebody else’ that you are forced to scream along with. Then of course the albums debut single ‘I Said I’m Sorry’ a biting false apology. “Funeral for a Trend” may be recognised by some, as it was released as a live performance on a special edition dvd with ‘Guillotine’. It’s slow, sad and one to sing along to.
Personal favourite is “You Will Die and I Will Take Over”, this truly standout track begins with creeping bass, the lyrics almost rapped. “Nic the Poet” is a thunderous guitar driven punk number, another one to yell along to while jumping around. Finishing the album is “The Golden Years”, a slower and more subtle song, containing the motto for the album ‘Snorting diamonds and stealing cards’, just like what “Council Flat” did the year before.
This album is a perfect continuation from ‘Guillotine’, the songs finding an equivalent to the newer ones on ‘Thieves’. Just like its predecessor, ‘Thieves’, seems to represent a generation and a social commentary on life as a young adult today, a collection of static pop songs that make me happy and sad, that make me want to dance and scream and punch myself in the leg! If an album of 10 pop songs can make you want to do all of that, it has to be pretty good, right?
Buy ‘Thieves’ here!
3 Comments leave one →
  1. Philippe permalink
    July 21, 2008 12:42 pm

    Hmm I dunno, everytime I have seen British India I have been unimpressed. They seem really formulaic for me.

    Differnet courses though I suppose…

  2. qwerty permalink
    July 21, 2008 9:20 pm

    some catchy tunes that are sure to set the panties of a many 14 year old girls a light..
    … rubbish feature album…

  3. Lauren permalink
    January 30, 2009 1:08 am

    I like them on record but when i saw them live I was disappointed. they have some very catchy songs though

Leave a Reply

