Skip to content

Brand New – Your Favorite Weapon (2001)

July 28, 2008
by


I quite clearly am a bit in love with Brand New and this album is no exception. It’s not as deep or as ‘meaningful-core’ as their other two albums and in fact it barely sounds like their other work and that’s just one reason why it’s worth hearing. Pop-punk at it’s finest, or maybe you would say emo these days but back in ye old 2001 it was a shining example of how to make a catchy pop-punk album with a bit of spin in the lyrics department. I love how they completely changed their sound after this album but yet it still manages to entertain greatly even though I hardly listen to stuff like this any more. Maybe I’m being blinded by nostalgia but, even more likely, I am being blinded by the sheer awesomeness that is Your Favorite Weapon.

‘Jude Law and a Semester Abroad’ is what a proper break up song should sound like, no sympathy, crunchy power chords and lyrics lamenting that fact that the girl is still alive sung all snotty and punk like. Emo anthem or pop punk classic, it doesn’t really matter as the hooks are all here with deathly angry lyrics. Mix Tape’ is a song I had almost forgotten about until tonight where I strangely found myself singing it for no reason; it shamelessly name drops The Smiths and probably inspired a generation of teenagers to check them out (me included). Brand New slow it down and let the bitterness seep into every corner (yeah, it’s another break up song) and the extended instrumental outro could be a sign of things to come.

‘Seventy Times 7’ is a song perhaps more famous for the story behind it than the actual music, I’m gonna assume people didn’t exactly keep up with the early 00s emo scene so in short this song was written about the fall out between Jesse Lacey (Brand New singer) and some douchebag from Taking Back Sunday who slept with his girlfriend (I think). Taking Back Sunday did a reply to it with ‘There’s No I in Team’ but since they aren’t very good I don’t really care. You can find the full story somewhere here. ‘Have another drink and drive yourself home, I hope there’s ice on all the roads, and you can think of me when you forget your seatbelt, and again when your head goes through the windshield’ mutters Lacey in lyrics which are alledgely from a phone conversation he had with said douchebag, before repeating them with such fury and emo-tion that it’s a little scary.

Oh wow. I went on for ages about this album, to be honest not all the tracks are stella but the dud ones are few and good ones are great so overall, yeah it’s great. If you want to check out a little slice of the beginnings of modern day emo or just check out a fantastic pop album I recommend this very very highly. Also I wish people would stop writing Brand New off as some pathetic load of cry babies they are actually really fantastic and have only gotten better over time. It’s also fun watching their sound evolve from album to album.

Brand New – Your Favorite Weapon (2001)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Alexandra permalink
    July 28, 2008 11:22 am

    Saw Brand New at this years BDO. Jesse Lacey is lovely ;)
    I’m not to crazy about this album, but Deja Entendu is freakin’ awesome! (I know, I know….it’s the ‘famous’ album)

  2. Nick permalink
    July 28, 2008 11:25 am

    I think The Devil and God are Raging Inside Me, is my favourite album by them. Just. Currently on a Brand New binge and enjoying their B-sides…

  3. Elyse permalink
    July 31, 2008 8:14 am

    Wait, is this band that zebra tshirt you have?

  4. Nick permalink
    August 1, 2008 9:53 am

    Yes.

  5. Christopher permalink
    August 1, 2008 11:04 am

    nice review. i’d like to see your opinion on the devil and god are raging inside of me if you have time. definately my favourite alubm.

    oh and the b sides you were talking about, is that a cd?

  6. Nick permalink
    August 2, 2008 3:23 am

    No I think someone just collected all their rarities and b-sides all in the one place. There are some pretty good ones. Link,

    http://www.megaupload.com/?d=0JATWR2D

Leave a Reply

