Skip to content

The Vines – Melodia (2008)

August 5, 2008

The Vines have never really been a band I have been fussed with. I enjoy what I know of their music but have never found myself listening to an album, but for some reason when the release date of the bands fourth studio long player came rolling around, I felt bizarrely compelled to make a purchase. So, I shelled out the money for an album that potentially was going to do nothing but sit on my shelf, unplayed forever and ever, but I put it on and listened, and I am so glad I did!

I find myself struggling to write about it though, as I don’t know why I am enjoying it so much. All songs are catchy and single-worthy and definitely an album that can be listened though, straight from start to finish.

Melodia seems to show that the boys have finally decided to grow up, and is a demonstration of them being in their finest form to date. The songs are clearly structured and appear as though thought has gone into their creating, not just jumping in the studio to scream out some reckless, messy noise.

First single was obviously-autobiographical “He’s a Rocker”, a short but sweet and catchy number to sTick in your head and to be sung along with, followed by “Orange Amber”, channelling an almost Oasis-esque vibe (weird, I know.) “True of the Night” is a slower track, a lamenting, nearly romantic song followed by a sly and bass-heavy “Braindead”, defiantly one of the darker tunes on the album. “Scream” another heavier number, with…well…lots of parts to scream along to with contrasting harmonies in the background and simple handclaps you can’t help but join in with. Finishing up the album is down-tempo “She is Gone”, a rather downtrodden tale of losing a love.

Unlike what I have heard of The Vines in the past, this album appears to show Nicholls and co finally at ease with themselves and comfortable in their skin, demonstrated in the genuine and relaxed appeal of this album, it’s whole tone representing a real band rather than the tangle of junkie musicians the Vines used to be in the past.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    August 6, 2008 10:29 am

    “to SICK in your head?” Sounds enjoyable…

  2. May 17, 2011 9:45 pm

    Ciekawe:))

  3. May 17, 2011 9:54 pm

    It is reealy funny.

Leave a Reply

