Skip to content

The Dark Knight (2008)

August 12, 2008

It seems we are all going through a few quiet days here on nickjamvendetta. What with Nick and his arse-hurting uni.

I have, on the other hand, been putting all my possessions into boxes and sorting through things that I do or don’t need for a big move into my new apartment in a few weeks. So it is now that I bring you this post, with me lying on an unmade mattress on the floor with heaps of junk surrounding me ready to be lugged across to the other side of Sydney.


Nevertheless, as well as a few more posts in the next few days – I am here to quickly tell you all my thoughts on The Dark Knight (finally!) which has been out for a few weeks now.

I had not avoided all the pre and post release talk of this film. It more or less seemed positive on most fronts. But as much as the plot was twisting and turning, I couldn’t help that as the movie wore on, I was watching a TV mini series rather than a movie. The Dark Knight is half an hour too long, and could benefit with a few less action / violence sequences and maybe a little more succinct movement in terms of character development. Another unsatisfying thing about the film was one of the characters fate is really never realised, which left a bit of a frustrating feeling in my mind after I left the cinema.

It’s a dark film (excuse the pun) in which the intricate plotlines more or less surround the introduction of The Joker to Gotham City. I was intensly fascinated with Heath Ledger’s portrayal of the menace to society. He really is the shining star of this film. Christian Bale to me was good, but not great as Batman. And that voice he puts on in the bat costume felt really grating after a while. The rest of the cast, hmm… well Aaron Eckhardt really shone through and displayed a great handling of the rollercoaster ride his character Harvey Dent goes through, Maggie Gyllenhaal was impressive and Michael Caine brought an unusual charming Alfred to an otherwise serious film.

I can understand the mad rush of success this film has got, and it is well deserved because of the depth in which this movie gets into all the characters really needs to be applauded, but if there is a third in this series of Nolan’s Batman films then a few tweaks to what failed in The Dark Knight wouldn’t hurt.

The Dark Knight 7 / 10

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Alexandra permalink
    August 12, 2008 11:25 pm

    Aus. got an edited version of the ending, out of respect for Heath.
    I want to see it, but have been unsuccessful at finding it.
    Hope the moooove goes well!

  2. Nick permalink
    August 13, 2008 7:13 am

    I didn’t know we got an edited ending, interesting. This movie was pretty great but I agree, Batman’s voice is really annoying.

Leave a Reply

