Skip to content

Outfoxed: Rupert Murdoch’s War on Journalism (2004)

August 26, 2008


I think that most people view Fox News as sort of a joke, right? Me and most people I know do but I didn’t realise to what extent how terrible it really is. Outfoxed is a documentary that aims to expose the problems and obvious bias that Fox News has and it really surprised me, it’s quite entertaining too and a few years old now but I only watched it today at uni. Oh and I missed the first 10 minutes or so cause I slept in but I think I got the gist of it.

I don’t know how you critique documentaries so I’ll just say that it was very interesting and also entertaining. It’s fast paced and packs a lot into its 90 minute or so runtime; focusing mostly on how Fox News blurs the line between commentary and news and I liked the part where it explained when a Fox anchor says “some people say such and such” they are really just saying “I really think this”. It’s creepy to think that for many people this is their only news source and how much bias it has to right wing America. It’s amazing that a news station like this exists at all, a segment shows Bush being interviewed in 2000 by a journalist whose wife is heading a campaign to elect him. Kerry is not allowed to interviewed by anyone remotely close to him. Crazy stuff.

Highlights include the segment in which Bill O’Reilly wants to beat the shit out of this young guy (Jeremy Glick) who’s dad had died in 9/11 but had also signed an anti-war protest; Glick stays composed and intelligent in the interview while O’Reilly loses his shit. It’s interesting to see months later that he claims Glick thinks Bush caused 9/11 and how much he warps the truth about him as Fox News loves to do. In fact any part with O’Reilly is a highlight cause he’s such a douche. While this documentary could be called hypocritical as it only has interviews with those against Fox and is pretty one sided I think in this case it needs to be; judging from what I’ve seen and read about Fox they don’t really need any sympathy. Definitely an interesting watch even if certain parts are a tiny bit outdated now.

7/10

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    August 26, 2008 10:34 am

    We watched this in yr 11 and it was pretty interesting. Like, when the employees were being interviewed in darkness it was a bit dramatic. I liked the bit on fear mongering, with all the tv specials on anthrax etc. So Today Tonight.
    sarah c

  2. Alexandra permalink
    August 26, 2008 11:33 am

    I remember being told about this doco.
    I would like to see it, sounds interesting.

  3. q of h permalink
    August 26, 2008 12:02 pm

    Yay for free and unbiased media! Sounds like a good watch.

  4. Steve permalink
    August 26, 2008 3:12 pm

    I found this documentary frustratingly one-sided, for something which was bagging out a one-sided news program. I turned it off before it finished, out of frustration.

    I really feel it was let down by the lack of a sensible debate. And it’s quite apparent that Faux News is total crap, so giving all the apologists a minute on air would likely only validate what the doco was trying to put across, but a bit more subtly.

Leave a Reply

