Skip to content

Someone Still Loves You Boris Yeltsin – Pershing (2008)

August 26, 2008

I’ve been meaning to write about this album for ages (I think about writing it so much that sometimes I even think that I have actually written about it, which leads me to not write about it, which leads to a nasty spiral), because, well, it’s so damned good. I just put it on to to write this review to and already I’m having trouble typing because I can’t stop singing along and dancing / rocking out to brilliant opener Glue Girls. If you want proof of how much I love it, just check out my Last.fm and you’ll see how many plays there are. So obviously this review is gonna be a tad biased…

I first found these guys because of their (*pauses to dance to Boring Fountain*) name, which, given that I am currently obsessed with all things Russia (no idea why), attracted me considerably. Desperate to see what kind of music a band with this name would play, I downloaded the first (and only) album I could find, the (at that time) yet-to-be-released Pershing, and fairly instantly fell in love. Um, just a note to any anti-piracy music industry people reading: that’s how we discover music! I am now the proud owner of both Pershing and their debut album Broom on vinyl, and a legal download of Pershing. So fob off.

It’s kind of hard to describe what they sound like, I think. I mean, they’re not exactly hardcore, but they’re not twee, either (despite “sorry if that’s twee, it’s just tomorrow’s hope” in Think I Wanna Die). They’re easy to chill out to, but at the same time, they make me want to sing along and dance when I’m in the right mood. The best place I’ve found for listening, though? In my car, with the sunroof wide open, on a sunny day, with the music blasting. Perfect! Okay, so the only time I’ve had the opportunity to try that was when I was home last, and it was freezing, so I had to have my jacket on and the heater on high, but it still counts! And it was still super fun.

I’d try and list the highlights off the album, so you might have an idea where to start, but frankly there aren’t really any. Well, kind of. It’s more that they’re all highlights. Or at least brilliant. Absolute favourites would have to be Glue Girls, Think I Wanna Die, and You Could Write A Book, though, if I had to list them.

Um, so I don’t know how useful that was as a review, it was pretty much me just raving about how much I love this band. But hey, isn’t that the best kind of recommendation?

P.S. Haha, I just discovered: search for ‘Someone Still Loves You Boris Yeltsin’ on Facebook, and on the first page are both me and Lexie. Apparently we really do love them. :D

MYSPACE WOO!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

