Skip to content

Yeasayer @ Corner Hotel (Melbourne), 4-08-08

October 5, 2008
tags: ,
by


First off I should say I wasn’t particularly excited about this gig. I had to leave the warm comfort of my friend’s living room in Ballarat really early and make the long-ish cold drive back to Melbourne. Because of this I also missed the supports so I’m sorry Fabulous Diamonds and Tale Impala, but I’m sure I’ll see you another time. I arrived almost as the band was beginning and for probably the first time ever at a gig I was caught wondering why was the band dressed so stupidly. I couldn’t tell if they were trying too hard to be cool or just not trying at all; I decided that they weren’t trying hard early on because otherwise their ridiculous singlets and pig tales would have annoyed me. I don’t usually judge bands based on appearance but serioulsy this was bad. Luckily they surprised me and were actually a pretty solid live band.

What I thought was reverb drenched vocals on their record was actually some really cool and complex harmonies. It was a surprise to see that all four members of the band could actually sing pretty well and they were also pretty good at playing their respective instruments. A lot of the middle eastern and African sounds that make up the album were sadly done through sampling but it still sounded great and the guitar was a big stand out. I guess the easiest way to describe their sound is to say it’s like MGMT, if MGMT were better and listened to lots of Arabic and African music.

They started off a bit slow but after a few songs in they hit their stride and got the energy levels up. The guitar as mentioned was really good, with some sexy Arabic licks and generally some pretty awesome riffs and a nice tone. Drumming was also top notch while making use of a full kit and some nice samples that added some flavour. I really dug their live version of “2080” as the guitar riff just sounded fantastic live and the vocals were great. They played most of their debut All Hours Cymbals, and also a few new tracks that seemed to be a bit more straightforward with less world influences but a couple of them were quite good. They finished the night with a really fantastic version of “Wait for the Wintertime” which is one of my favourites, the bass and drums were epic and the samples used were probably the best of the night along with the half muttered vocal harmonies in the cool bass driven parts. Overall I was a little surprised that Yeasayer were able to match the lush sounds they make on record but they did and I enjoyed it. I bought a nice T-Shirt too.

Official Myspace

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Kaitlyn permalink
    October 5, 2008 12:51 pm

    Pic of the T-shirt? Also, when you say ‘pig tales,’ do you mean pig tails as in the hair style, or were they literally wearing paper pig tails or something on their backsides?

  2. Nick permalink
    October 5, 2008 1:37 pm

    Hairstyle.

  3. Philippe permalink
    October 5, 2008 9:21 pm

    I’m interviewing Yeasayer today! Sooo looking forward to it.

    Might put the transcript up later this week. Also going to the gig here in Syd.

  4. Anonymous permalink
    October 6, 2008 5:03 am

    I was at this gig, and really enjoyed it. They exceeded my expectations and were really solid. Glad to have seen them in case they disappear or become huge.

    Kymbos

  5. Nick permalink
    October 6, 2008 6:01 am

    Cool Philippe, hope it goes well. Would be interesting I reckon.

  6. Kaitlyn permalink
    October 8, 2008 11:40 am

    Okay, thanks for the clarification Nick.

Leave a Reply

