Skip to content

Little Red @ Manning Bar (Sydney Uni), 23-10-08

October 24, 2008

This was the first gig I’ve actually been on time to for a while now, although it was kind of all for nothing. We watched the first couple of songs of the first band (The Mischief), and then went into the next room to chat; the band wasn’t bad, they just weren’t very exciting, either. Besides, who can refuse discussing such interesting things as queering Jesus?
Due to the conversation we also missed the second support, Cloud Control, although they sounded pretty good from a distance. But, of course, we headed in soon after Cloud Control finished, full of anticipation for our most-seen band of the year (and ever). Well, Lizzie and I, at least, have seen them three times now.
Their set was considerably different to what I’m used to – almost the entire middle section was filled with unreleased songs, (presumably) from an upcoming album. And although they were good songs, they weren’t as energetic, and didn’t hold up live against brilliance such as Jackie Cooper and Coca Cola, and as a result it got a little, well, boring. As much as it pains me to say that. In fact, the band as a whole seemed a bit tired, which I guess is understandable given the amount of touring they’ve been doing recently.
Some of the atmosphere was also ruined by the crowd, though. Given that it was a Thursday night at a Uni bar (college night, Lizzie informs me), there were a very large number of drunk students who had no idea who Little Red were, and they caused a number of problems and distractions. I’m trying to remember when Broken Social Scene (the only other gig I’ve been to at Manning) was, because it was a much better crowd. That said, I guess BSS would’ve sold out relatively quickly, not leaving room for spur-of-the-moment uni kids to join in.
So out of the three Little Red gigs, I’ve been to, it’s definitely third on the list of favourites, but it was a pretty good night out, and I’m looking forward to seeing them again at Meredith!
3 Comments leave one →
  1. Nick permalink
    October 24, 2008 7:15 am

    So do these guys play Isabella live? If they don’t play it at Meredith I will be sad… :-(

    So good.

  2. James permalink
    October 24, 2008 7:18 am

    They played it the first two times I saw them, but not last night, sadly. They had so much new stuff, they left a lot of Listen to Little Red out, which was rather disappointing.

    You’d think they’d play a lot of LtLR at Meredith, though – this Uni tour seems to be a good deal of just trying things out, without so much pressure.

  3. Nick permalink
    October 24, 2008 7:21 am

    Ah I see.

    I can’t get into the whole album but that song has really stuck with me for some reason. I still like them though.

Leave a Reply

