Skip to content

Emiliana Torrini, Metro Theatre (Sydney), 17-11-08

November 17, 2008

Oh my gosh, I’m in love! My heart is beating like a jungle drum, even.
I can’t begin to tell you how amazing this gig was. If I absolutely had to pick on anything about the gig, well, I honest-to-God couldn’t. The only thing I could ever ask for would be for a repeat of Jungle Drums and an even longer set (it was over an hour and a half as it was!).
Not long back, I (jokingly) blogged a list of women I would marry on the spot if I had the chance, and Emiliana was at the top. Now, she’s the only one on the list at all. She had the best stage presence of anybody I’ve ever seen live, which includes the likes of Arcade Fire, The Shins and Sufjan Stevens, all of who are amazing. Her energy during the songs and banter between them was non-stop, and extraordinarily charming and witty. She seems a classy gal at first (and she is, most of the time), but by golly she can be coarse sometimes! I must have looked like a fool from an outsider’s point of view – I was just staring, laughing at everything. Completely mesmerised.
The set was made up mostly of songs from her latest two albums, Me and Armini and Fisherman’s Woman, although she included the wonderful Unemployed in Summertime, from Love in the Time of Science, near the end, after mentioning that she found it hard to gauge what people actually knew and wanted to hear (apparently she did one gig where nobody knew any of her stuff, they kind of just… Wandered in). I’m a big fan of Love in the Time of Science, so I probably would’ve enjoyed some more from that, but her last two albums are so brilliant anyway, and I never once got bored or lost interest.
Favourite had to be Jungle Drum, in no small part because it’s her favourite to perform live, too. She was clearly having the time of her life, and was so happy and energetic that it was impossible for even the most cynical person not to get caught up in the hype.
In the list of top five gigs ever, hands down.
Now, considering the fantastic live nature of her performance, here’s a YouTube video of Jungle Drums live somewhere. Not Sydney, but it’s… Well, the same song. And the same dress, now that I think about it.
4 Comments leave one →
  1. lexie permalink
    November 18, 2008 12:17 am

    Sigh, I’m still so happy and glowy after last night.
    I was going to blog about this gig, but you did it so well already. So I shan’t even try.

    There are a bunch of rather lovely pics on flickr linked on last fm, from the event page.

  2. Philippe permalink
    November 18, 2008 12:55 am

    Dang I forgot that this was on and was intending to buy a ticket…

    Oh well

  3. James permalink
    November 18, 2008 1:23 am

    Oh no! As far as I know there were still tickets available at the door, so you could’ve just rocked up.

    Thanks for the heads up about the pics, Lexie, there are some nice ones there!

  4. Lizzie permalink
    November 18, 2008 2:08 am

    Mmmm she’s lovely. I want her dress. Mmm.

Leave a Reply

