Skip to content

Ads and Music

November 29, 2008

I’d been hearing about this ad for a while now but had yet to see it on my television until last night. It’s a cute ad for Cadbury chocolate featuring music from indie superstars Broken Social Scene. The visual compliments the music so is it really such an odd pairing? It seems more and more companies are looking too slightly left of centre bands to soften their corporate image such as the 3 Mobile ad featuring Lisa Mitchell or the Jeep ad with Born Ruffians. These bands aren’t exactly underground but ask the average person who they are they will give you a flummoxed look and I suppose this situation can be regarded as win win. If someone gains interest in your band from your work appearing in an advertisement then you have gained a new fan and the company using this music will appear to (hopefully in their eyes) gain a sort of ‘edge’ from the perspective of certain demographics. I don’t really have a problem with bands I like trying to make a better living, to an extent, but I think most bands understand this and tend to stray away from supporting companies generally regarded as ‘not good’. I’m sure some Born Ruffians fans might be upset at their pairing with Jeep but really if that’s what it takes to stay active as a band these days then I don’t mind but I don’t really have anything against Jeep while I’m sure others do.

The way I see it is that it’s a good way for lesser known bands to hopefully gain some recognition and to be honest I don’t really care how the company benefits unless it is one I care about, which I sort of doubt because most people aren’t exactly fans of specific companies or corporations. Also do these bands really get a say on which ads their music appears or is it dictated by their label? I remember reading that The Thermals were offered a tonne of money for one of their songs to appear in a Hummer (I think) advertisement but they didn’t agree with the company’s ideals and turned them down. It’s nice seeing bands take a stand like this but will it be possible to decline offers like this in the future with labels looking for more sources of income outside of CD sales and enforcing stricter contracts? Bigger labels are already looking to take more profit from tours and I wouldn’t be surprised if they went against the wishes of their client to make a bit more money.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Philippe permalink
    November 29, 2008 4:25 am

    It’s a hard one to weigh up really. I suppose it depends from band to band most of the time.

  2. Alexandra permalink
    November 29, 2008 6:50 am

    Interpol are on an Armani ad I think, the one with Josh Hartnett, and Port O’Brien are on the Dulux ad.

  3. James permalink
    November 29, 2008 6:54 am

    I’ve seen quite a few recently, it’s weird. Namely Andrew Bird (can’t remember which ad) and Oh No! Oh My! on some sort of paint ad, I think. It’s odd.

  4. Tiffane permalink
    November 29, 2008 11:48 pm

    Nice vocab, Nick. I’m flummoxed by its cuteness.

    P.S. Tres interesting.

Leave a Reply

