Skip to content

Dogbuoy – Mozzies

December 5, 2008

During the course of almost two years at my current job, I’ve slowly gathered information about my manager’s old band, and yesterday I finally gathered enough to put together a proper internet search, and found that Dogbuoy, for who my manager was the drummer (on the left in the picture), were actually quite popular around the Sydney live music scene in the ’90s.

They didn’t record all that much though, and sadly I was only able to find one song of theirs, Mozzies, the video for which is on YouTube (shown below). It sounds quite similar to the Beastie Boys in a lot of ways, but has other stuff in their too. Maybe part of the precursor to today’s burgeoning local hip-hop scene?
I don’t know, I think maybe I just like watching it because my manager is in the video (he’s the tallest one, usually wearing a hat of some sort).
5 Comments leave one →
  1. Philippe permalink
    December 5, 2008 6:50 am

    DUDE!

  2. Philippe permalink
    December 5, 2008 6:52 am

    DUDE!

    This band was the shiznit when I was 14 / 15. This track especially got played tons on JJJ. I think I have an album as well. It’s so weird having a young ‘un write about a band you went and saw whenm you were young yourself…

    WAAHHH I’M OLD!!!

  3. James permalink
    December 7, 2008 5:53 am

    Wow, that’s amazing! I kind of just assumed they were pretty small-time, I guess. Insane!

    I might have to get that album off you some time, if you have it… I’m intrigued!

  4. muk permalink
    December 12, 2008 4:46 am

    hi muk here original guitarist from dogbuoy…..

    theres a rumour we might be doin a gig in march 09…

    checkout myspace.com/dogbuoy

  5. Philippe permalink
    December 24, 2008 11:07 am

    Well well well,

    how bout that?

Leave a Reply

