Skip to content

Fall Out Boy – Folie A Deux (2008)

January 11, 2009
by

falloutboy
I think Fall Out Boy are pretty great at what they do. Patrick Stump has some of the best vocals hooks in modern pop music and Pete Wentz is at times a rather adept lyricist, the rest of the band does a pretty good job of making these pop songs come to life and I think Foil A Deux has some of the best stuff they’ve ever recorded. I get that people hate them but really, this band set out to become huge and I commend them for their honesty.

This is a band that isn’t afraid to sound big and for the most part it works. At times it’s all a little too much, the production can feel compressed when they’ve got a whole string section going with like 100 guitar and vocal tracks and it can just sound messy. Patrick Stump backs his vocals up so much I wonder how he is able to do it live alone but his melodies are at times huge and for the most part, extremely catchy. On the opening track you can here him doing his ‘woooooo-oooohs’ in the background while he ‘sings about tragedy’. “I Don’t Care”, which is the lead single, is not so good. The lyrics are terrible and the aforementioned production is just too much. Sucks that people (me) have to hear it on the radio all the time.

Wentz’s lyrics for the most part aren’t particularly subtle but as he muses about fame and celebrity obsession it’s hard not to smile and he does attempt to tackle issues such as gay rights and the economic crisis (wtf?) on the shimmering “The (Shipped) Gold Standard”. Stump cries “I want to scream I love you from the top of my lungs/but I’m afraid that someone else will hear me” after a little intro about being an accountant before telling us about the time his dad caught a “horse shoe crab”… its all over the place but the choruses are huge and the verses bouncy in that type of slick pop rock style Fall Out Boy seemed to have perfected thanks to their army of one million computers. In other words it’s pretty great.

While so many people hate this band at least they have a sense of their place in popular music as Stump yells on “(Coffee for Closers)”, ‘throw your cameras in the air and wave them like you just don’t care’, making light of their mostly vapid fan base (not me though!). This is followed up by album highlight the epic ballad of “What a Catch, Donnie”: with a slowed pace, Queen styled guitar and piano driven vocals. This is where the band use strings and money to create a huge and fantastic sounding song, the self referencing outro in which in the choruses to most of their past hits are sung is awesome.

After the mid-point things sort of go down hill and it all gets a bit samey besides a few highlights (Lil’ Wayne cameo, what?!). I can definetly understand why people would hate this band, their not ashamed of their success and it’s not the deepest album but this is some of the hookiest shit from last year and I really surprised that I’m not sick of it yet. Now I hope they release a good single next so I’m not ashamed to keep my radio tuned to them. A band that really is so much better than their contemporaries

Official Myspace

One Comment leave one →
  1. Stephanie permalink
    January 12, 2009 9:42 am

    Bought this online only three songs into it because it was true love at first listen <3333

Leave a Reply

