Skip to content

Holly Throsby & Jack Ladder @ Bosco Theatre, 29-01-09 (Spunk Records Showcase – Sydney Festival)

January 30, 2009

I’ve been keeping an eye on the Sydney Festival Secret Shows, and while there’s been a few that sounded interesting, I hadn’t been motivated enough to actually go and see one. That was, until last night. I should explain the deal with Secret Shows, actually: some time during the day, subscribers get a text or email (both, in my case) saying what the secret show for that night is. Tickets are always $20, and the show is at the tiny Bosco Theatre at 11:30pm. Anyway, I deemed this a ‘must see’ show, and I was lucky enough to have a friend able to get tickets, so off we went.

I’ve never heard much stuff by either Holly Throsby or Jack Ladder, but I’ve heard excellent things about both, and they didn’t disappoint. Holly Throsby’s mellow, engaging show suited the venue perfectly. We were in the front row, in the middle, right in front of her and her guitar, and the whole thing was entrancing. It was actually a strange feeling; at one point, she asked the audience a question (“What are you all doing here so late?”). I felt almost compelled to answer her, in just normal conversation, she was so… Nice, and inviting. I didn’t, of course, but yeah. I think I have a new crush?

Jack Ladder’s set was, well, completely different. Electric guitar plus drummer in such a small venue equals a lot of noise, which was a big shock after Holly Throsby. He played some catchy tunes though (and even threw a little bit of a Ramones cover at the end). The only problem I really had was his stage presence. He was pretty drunk, in a bad way, and he was pretty uncommunicative and boring. I usually wouldn’t mind so much, but being such an intimate venue, you kind of expect the performers to go along with it. So, nice performance, but quite unengaging.

An excellent unplanned night out. Thankyou, Spunk Records!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lizzie permalink
    January 30, 2009 1:49 am

    I don’t think it was a Ramones cover, I think he just says that Surfin’ Bird thing in one of his songs.
    Bird Bird Bird is the word.

  2. James permalink
    January 30, 2009 2:33 am

    Yeah, it wasn’t a full cover, it was just a little bit of, yeah, Surfin’ Bird tacked onto one of his own songs.

Leave a Reply

