Skip to content

Animal Collective – Merriweather Post Pavilion (2009)

February 23, 2009

When I placed it in my CD player (yes, I still have one of those things), hit play and heard the opening sounds of “In The Flowers”, I instantly knew this was the soundtrack to a dream (or dreams) I probably had once upon a rhyme. “My Girls” would probably score the scene of me frantically searching through the forest for the long lost thing that I never can remember losing in the first place. Frantically searching and then suddenly finding yourself in a wide open field of dreams.

“Daily Routine” reminds me of those “flying in the clouds” scenes where I meander about with gay abandon. “Lion In A Coma” makes me dream of camels, and hot springs, and being fed Middle Eastern foods. There’s really no explanation why I feel this way for all these tracks off Merriweather Post Pavilion but I like it. A lot.

This record is the most beat-infused Animal Collective album yet though, and it’s not a far stretch to say that some of these would actually suit to a dancefloor, which is weird to think about when I’ve associated some of these songs with dreamy ideas and thoughts in this review so far. At the same time there’s still that real experimental element that the long standing Animal Collective fan would be familiar with. All the while tracks like “Guys Eyes” bring that slight pop element which show a wonderful, beautiful, unique songwriting ability. It all encompasses the group pulling off a sound in such a perfectly crafted way that it can’t be faulted in any sort of genre people are willing to put it in.

This is an album where a band is blossoming, and at the same time pushing the boundaries of music while doing so. Merriweather Post Pavilion is brilliant, brilliant stuff. Yes, I am going to add to the gushing and say that it’s my album of the year – so far

Animal Collective myspace website

5 Comments leave one →
  1. James permalink
    February 23, 2009 12:27 pm

    I think I might have to pick up this album. I never really got into Animal Collective, but I do love The Purple Bottle (from Feels).

    Pretty jealous about your CD player btw. I have a turntable, which I adore, but I own considerably more CDs and records. Sigh.

  2. Alexandra permalink
    February 23, 2009 2:42 pm

    HOLY FUCK IT’S MOOOOVING!

  3. Nick permalink
    February 24, 2009 3:09 am

    didn’t think it was that great at first but it continues to grow on me. good review.

  4. Anonymous permalink
    February 24, 2009 10:29 am

    Beautiful, Philippe.

  5. Philippe permalink
    February 25, 2009 9:27 am

    james – CD players don’t cost too much nowadays. Mine was $20 from K mart. Although they do seem to be a fading thing in stores nowadays.

    Thanks for your other comments guys – especially Mr / Mrs Anonymous.

Leave a Reply

