Skip to content

Death Cab for Cutie @ Enmore Theatre, 26-2-09

March 2, 2009

Considering they haven’t really done much since August last year, I guess it isn’t terribly surprising that Death Cab for Cutie put on almost exactly the same kind of show as last time. Not that that’s a bad thing; I can’t really pick them on much at all. But I guess it did take away some of the excitement of seeing a band that you love.
Somewhere or other I heard that Ben Gibbard had got rid of his long hair and non-geeky attitude, but apparently this is not true. He still has the long hair, and he didn’t even do much of his geeky dancing that I adored last time! I blame Zooey Deschanel, I think. Speaking of which, assuming they’re thinking about a new album some time in the future, it should be interesting to see what Ben comes up with lyrically, given he’s engaged and all.
Anyway, back to the actual concert. In comparison to the last one (because it’s easy to do), the mixing was thankfully pretty excellent, and Ben seemed a bit more inclusive, although both those could’ve been affected by us being in the front standing section instead of the seats.
But yeah, as much as I enjoyed it, it really was very… Samey. Ben again played an acoustic version of I Will Follow You Into the Dark, and they again closed with Transatlanticism (song), and played most of the same songs, with a few more from pre-Transatlanticism (album) days this time, I think (I wasn’t counting, sorry). Very enjoyable overall, though!
Oh yeah, and Youth Group were supporting. Admittedly I kind of only know Forever Young, which they didn’t even play (unless it was the first one or two songs, which we missed), but they were pretty nice to listen to. Not terribly exciting or anything, but yeah. Nice. I may have to pick up one of their albums, or something.
One Comment leave one →
  1. Steven permalink
    March 3, 2009 12:50 pm

    I recall someone telling me that once the hit of Forever Young came and went, Youth Group publicly stated that they’d moved on from it, and wouldn’t be playing it again.

    Which is fair enough; if it were my band, I wouldn’t want its defining song to be a cover.

    Shadowland was their other big hit from back when, which they played right at the end. Which a lot of people seemed to enjoy.

Leave a Reply

