Skip to content

Little Scout – The Dead Loss EP (2008)

March 22, 2009
by

As I posted recently, I saw these guys at Spectrum the other night and, being rather taken away by their set, picked up a copy of their The Dead Loss EP. Can’t say I’m the least bit bummed about it, either.

It seems more stripped back than their live performance, but I think that’s due to the makeup of the band, and I’m pretty certain it works better like this on record anyway. Melissa is the main vocalist for most of the record, and her sweet voice reminds me of… I don’t know, maybe Holly Throsby? Fellow band member Patrick also joins in, though, and the two share the vocals nicely, as heard in The Dress.

That said, it’s hard to beat the lovely mellow, poppy tunes of Festival and Dead Loss, and I find myself returning to them over and over. I hope these guys do some more shows in the near future, and I’ll certainly be picking up whatever they release next.

Little Scout MySpace.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 26, 2009 5:05 pm

    Ah, just one problem I have now. In Festival, she says ‘ATM machine’, which is a pet peeve of mine. Still excellent though. :)

Leave a Reply

