Skip to content

The Walkmen – You & Me (2008)

March 22, 2009

As far as I can recall, I was recommended this album on the basis of “it’s so nice and sweet”, or something along those lines. While I could never deny that it is, in fact, both nice and sweet, it’s pretty much nothing like I expected when I heard those two words. The main point being the vocals; they’re quite… Harsh, at times. That said, the lyrics purveyed by those vocals are very befitting of the description. So make up your own mind on that one.

The whole album seems a bit over the place, helped along by the harsh vocals and at times jumbled music, but it works. It goes really nicely together, and it doesn’t make me want to switch to nice simple pop every time I put it on. And that’s a fair achievement for an album, right?

Other than that, I have no idea who the Walkmen are and what they do (and I’m content just listening to their record and not caring for the time being), so I might just leave it at that and go study like I should be. Pick it up!

Walkmen MySpace.
Walkmen Band Website.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

