Skip to content

Gareth Liddiard (The Drones) & Jed Kurzel (The Mess Hall) @ Annandale Hotel, 10-5-09

May 12, 2009

gareth_annandale

I got invited to this gig a while back, and said yes on a whim, not really knowing either the Drones or the Mess Hall, despite having seen the Drones play at the same venue a couple of years back. Going without many expectations has its upsides – such as getting completely blown away by how good both Gareth and Jed are (there were some other supports, but we arrived too late to catch them).

Our night started off with Jed Kurzel and his guitar, along with me having to tell a friend that this was not, in fact, Gareth Liddiard (brings back memories from Death Cab not long back). Had us cracking up for quite some time. Hope Jed didn’t think we were laughing at him. But anyway, he played a heap of nice music to chill out to, which was pretty much what I felt like. One thing I really noticed was his lyrics – they’re brilliant, and quite hilarious at times. Despite hearing that his solo set was very different to the Mess Hall’s stuff, I think I might have to pick up one of their albums just to see what it’s like.

Gareth Liddiard is one of the odder characters going around, I think. I don’t mean that in a bad way; I don’t really know what I mean, actually. He just is. His stage banter was excellent, and had us all in fits of laughter at times. One fan actually yelled out that he should just keep talking instead of playing, but that would be unfair to his music, which was even more brilliant. Apparently most of it was from the Drones’ latest album, 2008’s Havilah, although I didn’t know until I asked somebody afterwards; I’ve been meaning to pick up a copy of Havilah for ages, but haven’t got around to it. I surely will now.

It was nice going to a nice, (fairly) acoustic gig for a change, although I don’t think it’s quiet to make it quiet at the Annandale. Just a relaxing Sunday evening with some great Australian rock music. We need more of this!

The Drones MySpace
The Mess Hall MySpace

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

