Skip to content

Okkervil River w/ The Lucksmiths @ Annandale Hotel, 8-5-09

May 12, 2009

okkervil_annandale

I was having one of those nights, similar to when I went to Wilco, where I was pretty sure I wasn’t going to be able to stand in the middle of a hot, sweaty Annandale Hotel for a whole hour and a half for Okkervil River.

Then they started playing. Hell yes! Opening with A Hand to Take a Hold of the Scene, from my favourite album The Stage Names (which also happens to be the only album I’ve listened to terribly much). I still was feeling a bit off, but couldn’t bear the thought of missing one little bit of Okkervil’s amazing set.

I was kind of surprised at how many people they had on stage (six), but I guess they do have a lot of stuff going on at once. The girl (can’t remember her name), in particular, provided some interesting instrumentation, especially with the way she played guitar on A Girl In Port. I don’t know the technique, and I can’t very well describe it, so you’ll have to just believe me on that one.

They also played two covers, which kind of surprised me (I haven’t experienced this at a lot of gigs I’ve been to), but they were both pretty excellent. One I can’t remember at all, but the other had ‘Elevator’ in the title or band name (?). Frick, I really should write this kind of stuff down, but to be honest I’m generally too busy enjoying myself to want to write things and look odd.

Oh and they were supported by the Lucksmiths, who I’d heard of before, but didn’t know any of their stuff. I think they complemented Okkervil River quite well, and served up a nice intro with their rocky tunes. The only gripe I had with their set was that they seemed to be trying too hard to make the crowd laugh and stuff… It just got a bit much (Okkervil River, on the other hand, had amazingly brilliant stage presence).

Basically the whole thing was awesome.

Okkervil River MySpace
The Lucksmiths MySpace

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2009 6:58 pm

    Oh gosh, yay, distraction!

    The girls name was Laura.

    I thought they were joking about that first cover, because it actually opens their album Black Sheep Boy, but I now see it is credited to someone who is not a band member. The second cover was a Thirteenth Floor Elevators cover.

    I want to see them again, and again and again! Bendigo roadtrip anyone?

  2. Philippe permalink
    May 12, 2009 11:17 pm

    Just heard about The Lucksmiths doing their last ever shows.

    This makes me sad.

  3. May 13, 2009 3:49 pm

    Ballarat > Bendigo!

    So Lexie, are you going to hold up your end of the deal now? :P

    Phil: I did not realise this. Are you going to any of them?

  4. Philippe permalink
    May 14, 2009 8:36 am

    Most possibly. Depending on whether or not I’m going to NZ.

Leave a Reply

