Skip to content

The Death Of Music Criticism, Or How Crowd-Sourcing Killed Indie Rock

June 28, 2009

I was intending of putting up this video on my personal blog Deep Liquid (probably still will), but I thought it was semi appropriate to put up here at njv, as it brings up quite a few questions on music journalism and what it means to the consumers of music today. The above was a speech by music journalist Christopher R. Weingarten (or not-to-be music journalist, according to him) at the 140 characters conference held in New York a few weeks ago, and will be re-broadcast later this week.I can’t disagree with what Christopher says.

It’s an interesting thought to think that what we do at njv and millions more places around the web is dramatically changing the scope of how music in consumed in these “niches” that Christopher mentions. The notion of challenging to be open to other types of music in an online sphere is an interesting point too which has me thinking quite hard, and as more and more print about music goes online, I just wonder how much of an impact it will have on the music industry itself.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. thegutterpipe permalink
    July 7, 2009 2:16 am

    Hey I’ve been reading you guy’s blog. I really like your coverage. And I like how you’ve been able to manage a blog with friends and made it stay soon. This vid is pretty good. But I feel conflicted because I’m a young guy who operates my own blog but I still have a lot of respect for the old school journalism. I’m diggin this guy’s attitude and sense of style. Great post guys keep it up.

  2. Philippe permalink
    July 19, 2009 9:39 pm

    Thanks dude!

Leave a Reply

