Skip to content

The Rakes release a new record, then break up

October 26, 2009

The Rakes

The last thing I would think on any band’s mind when they have a new release out is to break up. I dunno, bands have their reasons I suppose, but it was a bitter sweet discovery I found with “That’s The Reason” off their latest album release Klang. I was just getting into this band after they have been around for what seems eternity. That in itself is an odd thing, because I thought this band were to hip for me to like, and I’m never hip. I’m the daggiest South American / Italian / Australian you’ll ever know with the horrendous haircut in the world.

In fear of me getting off on the insanity bend here, I will now only simply say to enjoy this racey, upbeat track as it will be the last Rakes track you will hear (unless of course they get a nostalgic fanbase who never realised the band’s potential and hence reform in ten years).

“That’s The Reason” mp3
The Rakes website

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 2, 2009 6:53 am

    I’ve been into these guys for ages. Their ’07 release, 10 New Messages is a short collection of brilliantness! This sucks though.

    Thanks for the post. I’m sure it’s just the fact that I actually don’t have any friends but Rakes fans seem to be hard to come by for me.

Leave a Reply

